Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join or Renew
News : Programs & Events

FTRF Announces 2017 Roll of Honor Awards

Monday, June 12, 2017  
Share |
Joan Bertin, executive director of the National Coalition Against Censorship (NCAC) and ALA members and spouses Robert (Bob) Holley and Martha Spear, are the recipients of the 2017 Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) Roll of Honor Award. The awards will be presented at the 2017 American Library Association Annual Conference during its Opening General Session from 4 to 5:15 p.m. in McCormick Place, W375b/Skyline on Friday, June 24, in Chicago.

The FTRF Roll of Honor was established in 1987 to recognize and honor individuals who have contributed substantially to the foundation through adherence to its principles and/or substantial monetary support.
 Joan Bertin

Joan Bertin has been the executive director of the NCAC since 1997.

An excerpt from her nomination read, "At NCAC, Joan helped to launch the Kids’ Right to Read Project (KRRP), which offers support, education, and direct advocacy to people facing book challenges or bans in schools and libraries. Under Joan's leadership, NCAC has defended hundreds of book titles across the country, helping ensure that thousands of children will continue to enjoy literary masterpieces and popular young adult novels."

Bob Holley, a recently retired professor of library science at Wayne State University and active leader in the ALA’s intellectual freedom community and Martha Spear, a longtime intellectual freedom fighter in the Michigan Association for Media in Education have together designated in their wills for the FTRF to receive several million dollars from their estates to support student memberships and litigation. Bob is a newly elected trustee of the FTRF. The foundation appreciates the work Holley and Spear have already accomplished on behalf of intellectual freedom as well as their future commitment to FTRF.
 Spear and Holley

“The couple that reads banned books together, stays together!”