Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join or Renew
Board Roster


The Freedom to Read Foundation Board of Trustees is composed of eleven elected trustees, each of whom serves two-year Current Terms, along with four ex-officio trustees who are on the board by virtue of their offices in the American Library Association.  The board year runs from the end of the Annual Meeting (usually late June) following elections through the end of the subsequent Annual Meeting.


*Term end dates are listed below in parentheses, where applicable.



Barbara Stripling, Senior Associate Dean|Associate Professor of Practice, Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY (June 2022)


Vice President:

Peter Coyl, Library Director, Montclair Public Library, Montclair, NJ (June 2021)  



James G. (Jim) Neal, University Librarian Emeritus, Columbia University, New York, NY (June 2022)


Executive Committee Members: 

Sara Dallas, Director, Southern Adirondack Library System (SALS), Saratoga Springs, NY (June 2021) 


Loida Garcia-Febo, Immediate Past President of the American Library Association, International Librarian Consultant, Brooklyn, NY (June 2022)


Executive Director & Secretary: 

Deborah Caldwell-Stone, Freedom to Read Foundation, Chicago, IL


Karen E. Downing, Education Librarian at the University Library, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI (June 2022)

Robert P. Holley, Professor Emeritus, Wayne State University, Huntington Woods, MI (June 2021

Wanda Mae Huffaker, current chair-elect of the Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) (June 2022) 

Eldon Ray James, FOIA Specialist, Private Company, Austin, TX (June 2021)

Cyndi Robinson, Deputy Director, Illinois Library Association (ILA), Chicago, IL (June 2021)

John Spears, Chief Librarian and CEO of the Pikes Peak Library District (PPLD), Colorado Springs, CO (June 2021)



Julius Jefferson, ALA President, Section Head of Congressional Research, Library of Congress, Washington, DC

Tracie Hall, Executive Director, American Library Association, Chicago, IL

Martin Garnar, ALA Intellectual Freedom Committee Chair, Librarian of the College, Amherst College, Amherst, Mass.

Patricia Wong, ALA President-Elect, City Librarian at Santa Monica (Calif.) Public Library, Santa Monica, CA.


Theresa Chmara, Attorney-at-Law, Washington, DC



Deborah Caldwell, Executive Director & Secretary, Freedom to Read Foundation, Chicago, IL 


Yumeka Brown, Program Officer, Freedom to Read Foundation, Chicago, IL  



EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE provides the general governance of the Foundation between business meetings, and consists of the President, Vice-President, Treasurer, and two other Board members. This is the only elective committee.

FINANCE COMMITTEE works closely with the Treasurer and the Executive Director to maintain the fiscal health of the Foundation by reviewing Foundation financial reports, opportunities for investment, etc.

FUNDRAISING & MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE seeks to identify methods for generating Foundation revenue, and implements programs and campaigns to do so.  Additionally, works to increase Foundation membership.

NOMINATING COMMITTEE develops the slate of nominees for the annual election of Board members.

ROLL OF HONOR COMMITTEE identifies a suitable recipient or recipients for the Foundation's Roll of Honor Award, as per established criteria.

DEVELOPING ISSUES COMMITTEE identifies key intellectual freedom issues that could be targets for future litigation, and suggests topics for board meeting discussions.

CONABLE SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE identifies a promising new library student to receive the Gordon Conable scholarship, which covers their expenses to the ALA annual conference, and introduces them to the larger IF community.

KRUG FUND BANNED BOOKS WEEK GRANTS COMMITTEE identifies grant recipients for programs observing Banned Books Week.

KRUG FUND EDUCATION COMMITTEE supports the promotion and participation of intellectual freedom education in ALA-accredited graduate library school programs.

COMMUNICATIONS COMMITTEE identifies ways to share the activities and news of FTRF with members.



Note: to be updated July 2020 after unit annual meetings.

Robbie Nickel (AASL), Librarian at Sage Elementary School, Spring Creek, NV

Maggie Farrell (ACRL), Dean of Libraries at University of Nevada, Las Vegas, NV

Mary Ellen Pellington (AILA), Director, Octavia Fellin Public Library, Gallup, NM

Tom Adamich (ALCTS), President, Visiting Librarian Service, New Philadelphia, OH

To be announced (ALISE)

Betsy Brainerd, (ALSC co-liaison),  Arapahoe Libraries in Centennial, CO  

Justin Azevedo, (ALSC co-liaison),  Sacramento Public Library, Sacramento, CA

Eldon Ray James (ASGCLA co-liaison), Researcher, Word & Pictures, Austin, TX

Jonathan Reynolds (ASGCLA co-liaison), Manager, Special Services, Jacksonville Public Library, Jacksonville, FL

Sophia Sotilleo (BCALA), Associate Professor/Access Services Librarian, Langston Hughes Memorial Library, The Lincoln University, Lincoln University, PA

Amy Lappin, (Chapter Relations Committee), Lebanon Public Libraries, Lebanon, NH

Candace Morgan (Committee on Legislation),Portland, Ore

Mario Gonzalez (ALA Executive Board), Executive Director, Passaic Public Library, Passaic, NJ

Allan M. Kleiman (GLBTRT), Library Director, Montville Township Public Library, Montville, NJ

Howard S. Carrier  (GODORT), Social Sciences Librarian & Copyright Advisor, James Madison University

Eric Suess (IFRT), Library Director, Marshall Public Library, Pocatello, ID



Brett Bonfield (LITA), Executive Director of Princeton Public Library, Princeton, NJ

Susan Moore (MAGIRT), Catalog Librarian/Bibliographer, University of Northern Iowa Rod Library, Cedar Falls, IA

Margo Sussman (NMRT), New Hyde Park, NY

Robert Hubsher (PLA), Executive Director, Ramapo Catskill Library System, Middletown, NY

Roberto C. Delgadillo (REFORMA), Research Support Services Librarian at University of California, Davis, CA

Nancy M. Bolt (RMRT Retired Members Round Table) President of Nancy Bolt & Associates, Arvada, CO

Bill McHugh  (RUSA), Northwestern University Library, Evanston, IL

Mark Hudson (SRRT), Adult Services Librarian, Monroeville Public Library, Monroeville, PA

Nann Blaine Hilyard (United for Libraries), Winthrop Harbor, IL

Amanda Barnhart (YALSA), Teen Services Librarian, The Kansas City Public Library, KS 

For more information

For more information on the Freedom to Read Foundation, please contact Freedom to Read Foundation, 225 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60601; (800) 545-2433, ext. 4226; Email  ftrf at