Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join or Renew
Roll of Honor

The Freedom to Read Foundation Roll of Honor was established in 1987 to recognize and honor those individuals who have contributed substantially to the FTRF through adherence to its principles and/or substantial monetary support.


Nominations for 2020 Recipients are due by April 12, 2020.

Submit nominations HERE. As with any award, if you have documentation supporting why the nominee should receive the award, you are encouraged to provide it.

Roll of Honor Recipients

2020 Kelley L. Allen

2019 Pamela (Pam) R. Klipsch

2018 Douglas "Doug" Archer and Barbara Jones

2017 Joan Bertin; Bob Holley and Martha Spears

2016 Helen Adams, Nancy Kranich, Frank LoMonte

2015 James G. Neal and Jonathan Bloom

2014: Herbert Krug

2013: Judith Platt and Russell Feingold

2012: Michael A. Bamberger

2011: Chris Finan

2010: Robert O'Neil

2009: Robert P. Doyle

2008: Burton M. Joseph (dec. 2010)

2007: Lucille C. Thomas

2006: Carolyn Caywood

2005: David Cohen

2004: June Pinnell-Stephens

2003: Theresa Chmara

2002: Joyce Meskis and Candace D. Morgan

2001: Carolyn Forsman (dec. 2013) and John K. Horany

2000: Emily Wheelock Reed (dec. 2000)

1999: Charles L. Levendosky (dec.2004)

1998: Dorothy M. Broderick (dec. 2011)

1997: Bruce J. Ennis (dec 2000)  

1996: Gordon M. Conable (dec. 2005)

1995: J. Dennis Day (dec. 1995) and Judith F. Krug (dec. 2009) 

1994: The Partnership of the School Board, Superintendent and librarians of the Juneau, Alaska, School District, and Frank Zappa (dec. 1993) 

1993: Lillian M. Bradshaw (dec. 2010) and Jerry A. Thrasher 

1992: Eleanor and Elliot Goldstein, and R. Kathleen Molz

1991: Judy Blume and Carrie C. Robinson (dec. 2008)

1990: William D. North and Russell Shank (dec. 2012)

1989: Alex P. Allain (dec. 1994) and Jeanne Layton (dec. 2008)

1988: Everett T. Moore (dec. 1988) and Sidney Sheldon (dec. 2007)