Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join or Renew
News : Programs & Events

FTRF kicks off 45th Anniversary Celebration with 11/20 Google Hangout

Monday, November 17, 2014   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Jonathan Kelley
Share |

The Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) will kick off a year-long celebration of its 45th anniversary on Thursday, November 20, 2014 with a live Google Hangout On Air.  The event, headlined by YA author Chris Crutcher, will be an opportunity to hear about FTRF's past successes, current project, and future goals. Speakers will also reveal plans for the upcoming twelve months, including several fundraising events around the country and a collectible tribute book. Attendees will have the opportunity to participate via a Q&A.

In addition to Crutcher, speakers will include FTRF Executive Director Barbara M. Jones, FTRF President Julius C. Jefferson, Jr., FTRF General Counsel Theresa Chmara, and University of Illinois Assistant Professor Emily Knox.

"We're excited to have this opportunity to discuss the work that the Freedom to Read Foundation has done and is doing, often under the radar, in defense of the First Amendment in libraries and elsewhere," said Jones.  "I supported FTRF for years as a member before becoming executive director five years ago, because I knew how important the Foundation's work has been. The FTRF 45th Anniversary celebration is a great opportunity to share this organization's story, and invite new audiences to support this work as it continues into the future."

Founders of the Freedom to Read Foundation, including Judith Krug, filed the organization's articles of incorporation in Illinois on November 20, 1969.  Krug went on to serve as FTRF's executive director until her death in 2009, immediately preceding the celebration of the organization's 40th anniversary.  Since its founding, FTRF has participated in groundbreaking litigation protecting the First Amendment, provided grants in support of librarians and others facing censorship challenges, and begun an education project that aims to ensure that librarians and others gain a deep understanding of the principles of intellectual freedom that inform FTRF's work.

During the next 12 months, the hashtag #FTRF45 will be used in social media to denote activities related to the 45th Anniversary.  Funds raised in the course of these activities will be used to support FTRF's Judith F. Krug Memorial Fund as well as FTRF's litigation efforts.

The Hangout will begin at noon Central (1:00 p.m. EST, 11:00 a.m. MST, 10:00 a.m. PST).  It will be recorded and available on FTRF's YouTube page for those unable to participate live. Visit www.ftrf.org/event/FTRF45_Kickoff to learn more and to register.  (Note: registration is not necessary, but is welcome.)


News from FTRF