Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join or Renew
The FTRF Blog
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (158) posts »

Neal, Bloom win 2015 FTRF Roll of Honor Awards

Posted By Jonathan M. Kelley, Wednesday, May 6, 2015

Congratulations to FTRF Treasurer Jim Neal and First Amendment attorney Jonathan Bloom on their selection as recipients of the Freedom to Read Foundation Roll of Honor Awards. The awards will be presented next month at the Opening General Session of the ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco. Click here to read the press release about the awards.

Neal, who recently retired from his position as University Librarian at Columbia University, has been instrumental in building FTRF's membership and fundraising capacity, and has been a strong public voice for the litigation and advocacy work of the Foundation.  Bloom, an attorney at Weil, Gotshal in New York, has been responsible for some of FTRF's key amicus briefs in recent years and, as counsel for the Association of American Publishers Freedom to Read Committee, has built an impressive reputation as a champion of the First Amendment.

The Freedom to Read Foundation Roll of Honor was established in 1987 to recognize and honor those individuals who have contributed substantially through adherence to its principles and/or substantial monetary support.  

Tags:  2015 ALA Annual Conference  James G. Neal  Jonathan Bloom  Roll of Honor Award 

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
News from FTRF