Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join or Renew
Search FTRF
Roll of Honor
Lucille C. Thomas2007 recipient - Past President, Brooklyn Public Library
Judith F. Krug1995 recipient (deceased) - FTRF Executive Director from 1969 founding to 2009

Roll of Honor
Share |

The Freedom to Read Foundation Roll of Honor was established in 1987 to recognize and honor those individuals who have contributed substantially to the FTRF through adherence to its principles and/or substantial monetary support.


All nominations are due December 1 (e.g., December 1, 2013, is the deadline for submitting nominations for the 2014 award).

Send nominations to either the chair of the FTRF Roll of Honor Award Committee at or (800-545-2433, ext. 4226). (All nominations are forwarded to the chair.) Any format is acceptable. As with any award, if you have documentation supporting why the nominee should receive the award, you are encouraged to provide it.

Roll of Honor Recipients

Click on each name for more information about their accomplishments.

2014: Herbert Krug

2013: Judith Platt and Russell Feingold (press release)

2012: Michael A. Bamberger (press release

2011: Chris Finan (press release)

2010: Robert O'Neil (press release)

2009: Robert P. Doyle (press release)

2008: Burton M. Joseph (dec. 2010) (press release)

Also: Read about Burt Joseph's remarkable legacy in the New York TimesChicago TribuneChicago Sun-Times, and San Francisco Chronicle. Also: ACLU of Illinois Executive Director Colleen K. Connell remembers Burt Joseph (includes video interview with Burt).

2007: Lucille C. Thomas (press release)

2006: Carolyn Caywood (press release)

2005: David Cohen (press release)

2004: June Pinnell-Stephens (press release)

2003: Theresa Chmara; (press release)

2002: Joyce Meskis and Candace D. Morgan; (press release)

2001: Carolyn Forsman (dec. 2013) and John K. Horany; (press release

2000: Emily Wheelock Reed (dec. 2000)

1999: Charles L. Levendosky (dec.2004)

1998: Dorothy M. Broderick (dec. 2011)

1997: Bruce J. Ennis (dec 2000)

Also:  Read Bruce's New York Times obituary.  Among his final events was a conversation at the ALA 1999 Annual Conference with Nadine Strossen and Christie Hefner.  He also wrote an excellent article on how ALA's intellectual freedom policies relate to the First Amendment.

1996: Gordon M. Conable (dec. 2005)

Also: Gordon's dedication to FTRF and intellectual freedom lives on with FTRF's Gordon M. Conable Fund and the Conable Conference Scholarship and PLA's Gordon M. Conable Intellectual Freedom Award.  See Gordon's obituaries in Library Journal and the Toledo Blade and on  ALA passed a  Memorial Resolution Honoring Gordon.

1995: J. Dennis Day (dec. 1995) and Judith F. Krug (dec. 2009)

Also:  Judith's legend grows every year.  Read remembrances of and obituaries commemorating Judith from 2009.  You can make a contribution in her memory via the Judith F. Krug Memorial Fund.

Also:  Read Dennis' obituary.

1994: The Partnership of the School Board, Superintendent and librarians of the Juneau, Alaska, School District, and Frank Zappa (dec. 1993)

Also:  Contribute to the Frank Zappa Memorial Fund.

1993: Lillian M. Bradshaw (dec. 2010) and Jerry A. Thrasher

Also:  Read Lillian's obituary.

1992: Eleanor and Elliot Goldstein, and R. Kathleen Molz

1991: Judy Blume and Carrie C. Robinson (dec. 2008)

1990: William D. North and Russell Shank (dec. 2012)

1989: Alex P. Allain (dec. 1994) and Jeanne Layton (dec. 2008)

1988: Everett T. Moore (dec. 1988) and Sidney Sheldon (dec. 2007)

Member Sign In

Forgot your password?

Join or Renew

News from FTRF