Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join or Renew
Search FTRF
Roll of Honor
Lucille C. Thomas2007 recipient - Past President, Brooklyn Public Library
Judith F. Krug1995 recipient (deceased) - FTRF Executive Director from 1969 founding to 2009

Judith Krug Fund Education Project
Share |

Judith Krug Fund Intellectual Freedom Education Project

In addition to Banned Books Week event grants, the Judith F. Krug Memorial Fund also funds online education efforts focused on intellectual freedom for library and information studies (LIS) students and library professionals. 

Judith was a fierce proponent of education, and among her many other accomplishments she taught classes and lectured frequently at LIS programs on intellectual freedom.  FTRF's intellectual freedom education project will incorporate Judith's writings and lectures to help create a comprehensive curriculum with content that can be used in a variety of educational venues.

LIS graduate-level course with University of Illinois: Fall 2015

FTRF is pleased to announce our continued collaboration with the Graduate School of Library and Information Science at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign for a course on "Intellectual Freedom and Censorship" during the 2015 fall term (August 24-October 9).  The course will be taught by Professor Emily Knox.

Those at Illinois and other institutions in the WISE consortium ( are able to register via the WISE system.  For those at non-WISE institutions, please contact Linda Smith at GSLIS, (217) 333-7742 or


FTRF offering 4 half scholarships 

FTRF is providing four half-scholarships for the 2015 course for LIS students enrolled at institutions other than the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. Applications are open through May 1, 2015.

Interested students are asked to fill out a short application, including a 200-word essay describing their interest in taking the course.  

 Apply here for the 2015 Krug Fund/GSLIS Scholarships.

2014 course scholarships

FTRF provided two scholarship recipients for the 2014 "Intellectual Freedom and Censorship" course: Berenice Prado Mendoza of Emporia State University and Jamie D. Carlstone of Dominican University.

Many thanks to all who applied and congratulations to the recipients!


Additional efforts

If you are an LIS educator interested in assisting with FTRF's ongoing intellectual freedom education efforts, please contact Joyce McIntosh at



Member Sign In

Forgot your password?

Join or Renew

News from FTRF

FTRF45 in Austin: Featuring David Levithan

FTRF45 in New York City

FTRF on Twitter


FTRF on Flickr

See more from FTRF on Flickr