Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join or Renew
Search FTRF
Roll of Honor
Lucille C. Thomas2007 recipient - Past President, Brooklyn Public Library
Judith F. Krug1995 recipient (deceased) - FTRF Executive Director from 1969 founding to 2009

Trustee Elections
Share |


On April 1 of each year, the current members of the Freedom to Read Foundation are sent ballots to vote on candidates to the Board of Trustees.  Trustees serve two-year terms and are limited to two consecutive terms before stepping off the board for at least one year.  Trustees are required to attend two one-day meetings per year, which are held in conjunction with the ALA Annual Conferences and Midwinter Meetings.

Nominations for trustee positions, including self-nominations, should be sent by February 15, 2016 to Freedom to Read Foundation, Attn: Nomination Committee, 50 E. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60611. In addition, nominations may be emailed to  FTRF members also may be slated for candidacy by petition by submitting 25 signatures of current FTRF members in support of the candidate. The executive director of the Foundation must receive names of petition candidates and the required signatures to support each no later than Jan. 31.

Only current FTRF members are eligible to seek election to the board.  To become a member, click here. To check your membership status, log in or contact FTRF at or (312) 280-4226.


Election Results

2014 election results

2013 election results

2012 election results

2011 election results

2010 election results

2009 election results

2008 election results

2007 election results

2006 election results

2005 election results

2004 election results



Candidate Slates & Statements of Interest

2015 candidate slate

 J. Douglas Archer, Peace Studies, Global Affairs & Political Science Librarian, Hesburgh Libraries, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN

Charles Brownstein, Executive Director, Comic Book Legal Defense Fund, New York, NY

John Chrastka, Executive Director, EveryLibrary, Berwyn, IL

John "Mack" Freeman, Marketing and Programming Coordinator, West Georgia Regional Library, Carrollton, GA

Alexia Hudson-Ward, Associate Librarian, Penn State Abington College, Abington, PA

Jim Neal, University Librarian Emeritus, Columbia University, New York, NY

Henry Reichman, First Vice-President/Chair, Committee A on Academic Freedom and Tenure, American Association of University Professors, Albany, CA

Neil M. Richards, Professor of Law, Washington University, St. Louis, MO

Loriene Roy, Professor and Graduate Advisor, School of Information, The University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas

Sophia Sotilleo, Assistant Professor/Access Services Librarian, Langston Hughes Memorial Library, The Lincoln University, Lincoln University, MD

Julia Warga, Associate Director for Research and Instruction, Kenyon College, Gambier, OH

Michael Wright, Director, Dubuque County Library District, Dubuque, IA

2014 candidate slate

2013 candidate slate

2012 candidate slate

See Also

FTRF Bylaws (See Article Three, Board of Directors, Section 4. Elections)


Member Sign In

Forgot your password?

Join or Renew

News from FTRF